Judge John Deed

Judge John Deed

Jan. 09, 2001
Your rating: 0
8 1 vote

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Nov. 26, 2001

Video trailer


Ο Sir John Deed ( Martin Shaw ) είναι πρόσφατα διορισμένος δικαστής του Ανώτατου Δικαστηρίου που επιδιώκει πραγματική δικαιοσύνη στις υποθέσεις του, ενώ ταυτόχρονα προσπαθεί να αναζωπυρώσει ένα παλιό ειδύλλιο με την πρώην μαθητρια του Jo Mills QC ( Jenny Seagrove ), που εμφανίζεται τακτικά στα δικαστήρια.

Judge John Deed is a British legal drama television series produced by the BBC in association with One-Eyed Dog for BBC One. It was created by G.F. Newman and stars Martin Shaw as Sir John Deed, a High Court judge who tries to seek real justice in the cases before him. It also stars Jenny Seagrove as the barrister Jo Mills, frequently the object of Deed’s desire. A pilot episode was broadcast on 9 January 2001, followed by the first full series on 26 November 2001. The sixth and last series concluded on 18 January 2007. The programme then went on an indefinite break after Shaw became involved in another television programme, and he and Seagrove expressed a wish for the format of the series to change before they filmed new episodes. By 2009, the series had officially been cancelled. The six series produced make it the longest-running BBC legal drama. The factual accuracy of the series is often criticised by legal professionals and journalists; many of the decisions taken by Deed are unlikely to happen in a real court. The romanticised vision of the court system created by Newman caused a judge to issue a warning to a jury not to let the series influence their view of trials—referring to an episode where Deed flouts rules when called up for jury duty. Another episode led to complaints about biased and incorrect information about the MMR vaccine, leading the BBC to ban repeats of it in its original form. All six series have been released on DVD in the UK.

Judge John Deed
Original title Judge John Deed
TMDb Rating 6.3 4 votes
First air date Jan. 09, 2001
Last air date Jan. 18, 2007
Seasons 7
Episodes 29
Average Duration 90 minutes

Similar titles

Suburra: Blood on Rome – Υπόγεια Πόλη
North and South – Βόρειοι και Νότιοι
Rillington Place
Dark Angel
Kevin (Probably) Saves the World
Grand Hotel
Captain Marvel
Wild Bill
Rescue Me
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments